Archive for Hawkwind

Uhrijuhla announce release date for Svart Records debut

Posted in News with tags , , , , on 12th November 2012 by Nico Davidson

Today, Finnish supergroup Uhrijuhla announced December 7th as the release date for the band’s debut album, Uhrijuhla, set for international release through Svart Records. Featuring members of Xysma and Callisto, Uhrijuhla‘s self-titled debut follows a 7″ single release and two videos. Tracklisting and cover (also attached) follow below.

Even though the band themselves would shun the description, there are enough reasons to call Uhrijuhla a “supergroup.” Male vocalist Janitor Muurinen is best known from Xysma, the world’s most criminally underrated death metal group, and guitarist Markus Myllykangas is the leading member of post-metal band Callisto. Female vocalist Olga is a successful solo artist in her own right. Most of the music and all of the lyrics are written by Kauko Röyhkä, one of the most respected Finnish singer-songwriters, with a 30-year career and a few dozen albums under his belt.

Uhrijuhla (“Sacrificial Feast” in English – although the name is inspired by the cult classic movie The Wicker Man, which is called Uhrijuhla in Finland) came together three years ago with the purpose of playing a new kind of progressive rock – partially homage to the grand masters from the ’70s but also influenced by modern progressive pop such as Portishead and Massive Attack. After a few fruitless attempts to get the band going, Callisto guitarist Myllykangas joined the fold in 2012 and suddenly everything just clicked. The eponymous album was recorded in the springtime and finished in September. The result is a multi-faceted, lush, and adventurous progressive vintage pop album with moods ranging from Hawkwind-style guitar psychedelia to Linda Perhacs-like introspection.

Svart Records, having already worked with both Xysma and Callisto, snapped the new band up quickly. The debut 7″ single and music video Liian kaukana appeared in October and the second video Avaruuden lapsi in November. The band are gearing up to play live dates with bands such as Hexvessel and Sammal and are already writing new material.

Tracklisting for Uhrijuhla‘s Uhrijuhla

1. Avaruuden lapsi
2. Se minkä maa voi antaa
3. Kotona
4. Liian kaukana
5. Kevään airut
6. Maaliskuun yössä
7. Yökello
8. Pikimusta tähtikirkas yö
9. Tunturit


Von Hertzen Brothers to appear at first ever HRH Prog Festival in UK

Posted in News with tags , , , on 8th November 2012 by Nico Davidson

Von Hertzen Brothers, Finland’s number 1 rock band, will return to the UK in spring 2013 for an appearance at the first ever HRH Prog Festival.

This event will take placeat MAGNA Science Adventure, a spectacularly renovated Steel Works in Rotherham on April 6th and 7th.

The festival line-up reflects the full range of Prog in 2013, bringing together new faces and established names, from Tesseract and Touchstone through to Caravan and The Enid.

Von Hertzen Brothers vocalist and guitarist Mikko is especially pleased to be sharing stage space with headliners, Hawkwind.

Mikko stated “When I was growing up in Finland, Hawkwind was one of my favourite bands. So it’s a real honour for us to playing with them at this event; not only is it the very first one, which makes it special straight away, but it has been put together with the help of our good friends at Prog Magazine. At the moment, we are rehearsing for some European dates with Opeth, and by the time we come to the UK next April we will have a new studio album available, so watch out for some brand new songs in the live set.”