Archive for Ares

Ashes Of Ares unveil track by track of upcoming album

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , , on 16th August 2013 by Nico Davidson

The newly formed American trio Ashes Of Ares, which features former Iced Earth vocalist Matt Barlow and former Nevermore drummer Van Williams, plus Freddie Vidales, also formerly of Iced Earth, have released via YouTube the track by track for their upcoming album. You can hear snippets of each track down below, as well as listen to Matt explain how the album came about.

The self-titled album is due out 9th September via Nuclear Blast.

Ashes Of Ares online:


Ashes Of Ares release lyric video for Dead Man’s Plight

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , , , on 9th July 2013 by Nico Davidson

Today, Ashes Of Ares, the newly founded metal trio composed of former Iced Earth and former Nevermore members, released the lyric video for Dead Man’s Plight which is taken from their upcoming debut self-titled album. The video can be viewed below.

Ashes Of Ares will be released via Nuclear Blast Records on September 6 as a limited CD in Digipak inc a bonus track as well as in two different 2LP versions. The tracklist reads as follows:

01. The Messenger
02. Move the Chains
03. On Warrior’s Wings
04. Punishment
05. This is my Hell
06. Dead Man’s Plight
07. Chalice of Man
08. The Answer
09. What I Am
10. The One-Eyed King

Bonus track
11. The Answer (acoustic version)

Ashes Of Ares online:

Norwegian dark metallers Aeternus announce new bassist

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , , on 11th April 2013 by Nico Davidson

Norway’s premier dark metallers Aeternus announced today that Krakow frontman and bassist Frode Kilvik, who had recently played on stage with the band for their appearance at this year’s Inferno Festival, would be joining as full-time bassist. As is so often the norm with bands, his role with Krakow, the band he co-founded in 2005, will remain unchanged.

Aeternus itself was formed in 1993 in Bergen, Norway, by guitarist and frontman Ares, and, until the release of the latest album …And The Seventh His Soul Detesteth, on Dark Essence Records at the beginning of April, the band had remained relatively quiet since the release of the previous album Hexaeon. Aside from Ares, who is the only remaining member from the original line-up, and Kilvik, Aeternus includes Specter (ex-Gravdal) on guitars and Phobos (Gravdal, Malsain, Galar) on drums. Commenting on the new addition, Ares said: “There is no doubt that Specter and Phobos infused the band not only with new blood, but also with a fresh perspective. Frode’s arrival will expand on that for sure. It was obvious from his performance at Inferno that he has an incredible stage presence that fits perfectly with the attitude we all project when we play live, and his considerable musical skills are well-able to handle the sometimes complex demands of Aeternus’ music . Not to mention the fact that he’s a great guy, which is probably even more important, and we are all very much looking forward to working as a unit.

…And The Seventh His Soul Detesteth, which is the band’s seventh album, was produced at the Conclave and Earshot Studios in the band’s home town of Bergen by Bjornar E. Nilsen (Vulture Industries, Black Hole Generator). The first pressing of the album includes Aeternus’ 1995 Dark Sorcery EP as a bonus. All music for the album is by Aeternus, whilst the concept and lyrics are by Helheim’s V’gandr, who is also a former member of Aeternus.

More information about Aeternus can be found on the band’s Facebook page at this location.